Monday, April 02, 2012

Peacemaker Award Nominations Announced

Western Fictioneers (WF) is proud to announce the nominees for the 2011 Peacemaker Award.

Winners will be announced on the Western Fictioneers (WF) web site ( on June 1, 2012.

Entries were accepted in both print and electronic forms with a 2011 copyright date.  The Peacemaker Awards are given out annually.  Submissions for the 2012 awards will be open in July, 2012. Submission guidelines will be posted on the WF web site. The following list of nominees is in no particular order.

Best Western Short Story:
***There were  two ties in this category, which is why there are seven nominees instead of the required five.

“Planting Season” by Johnny D Boggs (Cactus Country Anthology, Volume I – High Hill Press)
“The Way of the West” by Larry J. Martin (The Traditional West anthology, WF)
“Blackwell’s Run” (Western Trail Blazer) by Troy D. Smith
“The Sin of Eli” by Troy D. Smith (The Traditional West anthology, WF)
“Panhandle Freight” by LJ Washburn (The Traditional West anthology, WF)    
“The Death of Delgado” by Rod Miller (The Traditional West anthology, WF)
“Stay of Execution” by Lucia St. Clair Robson (Cactus Country Anthology, Volume I – High Hill Press)

Best Western Novel:

The Sonora Noose by Jackson Lowry (Berkley)
Redemption, Kansas by James Reasoner (Berkley)
Blood Trails by Lyle Brandt (Berkley)
The Assassination of Governor Boggs by Rod Miller (Bonneville Books)
Between Hell and Texas by Dusty Richards (Kensington Pinnacle imprint)

Best Western First Novel:

Unbridled by Tammy Hinton (Roots and Branches Publishing)
The Black Hills by Rod Thompson (Berkley)
Dismal River by Wayne Dundee (Oak Tree Press)
Bullets And Bad Bad Men by B.A. Kelly (Oak Tree Press)
The Guerrilla Man by Steven Clark (Solstice Publishing)

Western Fictioneers (WF) was formed in 2010 by Western writers Robert J. Randisi, James Reasoner, Frank Roderus, and other professional Western writers with the mission of preserving, honoring, and promoting the Traditional Western in the 21st Century
. Western Fictioneers (WF) is the only professional writers organization composed entirely of authors who have written Western fiction, the classic American genre. A writer or publisher does not have to be a member to be nominated, or win, the Peacemaker Award.

Contact: Larry D. Sweazy, WF Awards Chair,


pattinase (abbott) said...

Congratulations, James. You must have a shelf full of these.

James Reasoner said...

Nope, never won a thing. Two of my books were finalists for the Spur Award back in the Nineties, in back-to-back years, but that's the high point of my awards history.

Heath Lowrance said...

Well deserved, James! Redemption, Kansas is without a doubt the best new western I've read this year.

James Reasoner said...

Thanks, Heath.

By the way, I should have said, "my Western awards history" a couple of comments back. My novel DUST DEVILS was nominated for a Spinetingler Award a few years ago, something else of which I'm quite proud.

Charles Gramlich said...

Congrats to all the nominees. I see some names I recognize. By the way, "Harvest of War" is free on Amazon for a few days. I've taken advantage of all your and Livia's freebies.