Thursday, January 17, 2013

James M. Cain Update

Integral works by James M. Cain, now available as ebooks

James M. Cain has been called one of the most important writers of American crime fiction. As one of the founding father of the hardboiled and noir genres, Cain’s influential novels inspired countless writers, filmmakers, and readers around the world. and Open Road Media are proud to announce the ebook release of twelve of Cain’s later works.

Similar to Cain’s earlier works, The Postman Always Rings Twice and Double Indemnity, these later stories are filled with greed, regret, lust and murder, and his characters are portrayed with the same complexity and desperation.

About the Books: The Moth is a sweeping tale of love, loss, and the pursuit of beauty during the Great Depression. The Magician’s Wife is about a love triangle that turns fatal when a life insurance policy holds the promise of financial freedom. Past All Dishonor is the story of a Confederate spy that risks his life to win the heart of a fallen woman.

Other ebooks include:

·      Sinful Woman
·      Root of His Evil
·      Galatea
·      Mignon
·      Jealous Woman
·      Rainbow’s End
·      The Institute
·      Cloud Nine
·      The Enchanted Isle

These ebooks, available for the first time digitally, now make it possible for American crime fiction fans to read the entire collection of the influential author’s work.

(I've read some of these, but not all, so I'll probably be picking up the others. All the details are here.)


Fred Blosser said...

Glad to see this. While Vintage has kept POSTMAN, MILDRED PIERCE, and INDEMNITY in print pretty continuously, Cain's other work has languished. In 1973, I saw Cain when he made a personal appearance at a neighborhood library in suburban Maryland where he lived. I got his autograph on one of his old MANHUNT short stories. I now wish I'd brought a tape recorder and kept a record of what he said.

James Reasoner said...

I think it's pretty darned cool that you met him.